Marlis Petersen with the Sirius Quartet


The Sirius Quartet and soprano Marlis Petersen — the much acclaimed Lulu in the 2015 Metropolitan Opera production of the Berg masterpiece —  are joining forces to re-imagine the lieder tradition and its progeny the American Songbook with new arrangements for string quartet and voice.

From the mystical realism of Schubert’s Erlkonig to the all too realistic Billie Holiday classic “Strange Fruit”, their program strives to further the conversation between the new millennium’s ever evolving confluence of musical styles and the traditional vocal canon. This will be Ms. Petersen’s first U.S. recital tour.

"With her effortless coloratura, Ms. Petersen suggests the young woman’s flighty, ungrounded nature. But when crises come Lulu’s vocal lines turn crazed, with zigzagging leaps and sky-high sustained tones that Ms. Petersen sings with frightening intensity. And in Lulu’s moments of pensiveness and quiet fear, Ms. Petersen sings with a tender vulnerability that catches you off guard."

Anthony Tommasini, The New York Times

Click on each picture below to download hi-res version:

“It is not Mr Kentridge’s… interjections which catalyze the performance, but rather the incredible voice and dramatic presence of Marlis Petersen as Lulu…. Ms Petersen stole the show with her vibrant presence.”

Rebecca Lentjes, Bachtrack


“Erlkönig” by Franz Schubert:

Henry Purcell’s “Music For A While”:

Gregor Huebner’s “Der Troll”: